Superspark

a year in food and life

Roasted acorn squash with spinach and gruyere November 8, 2007

Filed under: food,veggies — superspark @ 8:38 am

acorn-squash-with-spinach-stuffing.jpg

I am just a little squash fiend these days. I can’t get enough of it. Butternut is my sentimental favorite, as you might be able to tell from recent postings, but I’m open to sampling the whole lot- acorn, spaghetti, you name it. There’s pretty much always some sort of winter squash sitting on the kitchen counter just waiting for inspiration to strike.

I’ve had some great acorn squash in the past. For instance, at the same dinner party at which Dylan first wooed me with this salad, he also broiled fantastic little wedges of acorn squash stuffed with craisins and brown sugar. Who wouldn’t fall in love with a man who cooks like that? Acorn squash can be wonderfully nutty and velvety, but as it turns out, it’s not foolproof. Wanting to try a new flavor profile (rather pairing it with brown sugar for that typical sweet combination), I took a stab at a recipe I found here on Recipezaar. Though it had gotten good reviews and sounded pretty interesting (what isn’t improved by the additional of cheese and nuts?), it was thoroughly lackluster. Entirely edible and FINE, but just not at all exciting and (dare I say it?), the gruyere and walnuts really didn’t do anything for the squash. No worries, my yen for winter squash continues, unabated, but this is one recipe I won’t be trying again.

Roasted acorn squash with spinach and gruyere
(serves 4 as a side, 2 as a main)

Ingredients:

1 acorn squash
10 oz chopped frozen spinach, thawed
4 oz shredded gruyere
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
salt and pepper

1. Rinse the squash and cut each in half lenghthwise: scoop out and discard seeds; Place squash halves, cut side down, in a 10-by-15 inch pan.

2. Bake in a 400 degree regular or convection oven until squash is just tender when pierced, 25 to 30 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, squeeze moisture from spinach; in a bowl, mix spinach, 3/4 cup cheese and walnuts; season to taste with salt and pepper.

4. With tongs or a spatula, turn squash halves over and spoon spinach mixture equally into cavities of squash; Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup cheese.

5. Return squash to oven and bake until cheese melts and filling is hot in the center, 15 to 20 minutes, Serve.

 

6 Responses to “Roasted acorn squash with spinach and gruyere”

  1. Please! I can’t stopping eating squash. Would you believe I ate acorn squash with maple syrup and walnuts for breakfast this morning? I figure it’s good carbs after a carido workout and a nice change from oatmeal!

  2. […] Pot Pie from More Than Burnt Toast, Cream of Cauliflower Soup from Not Eating Out in New York, Roasted Acorn Squash with Spinach and Gruyere from Superspark, Murgh Makkhani from Trial and Error, Butternut Squash Lasagna from Urban Drivel, […]

  3. Dillon Says:

    I took a little different of a spin on this! I used what I had instead and that was pecans instead of walnuts. I love spice, so I added a little hot sauce to the filling with some green peppers and used kale instead of spinach… The filling is delicious on bread even!

  4. Sounds delicious. I made this Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.

    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

  5. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  6. Bridgitte Says:

    Never looked at Acorn this way


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.