Superspark

a year in food and life

Mashed tomato potatoes January 11, 2007

Filed under: food,veggies — superspark @ 10:17 am

Mashed tomato potatoes

One of my intentions in starting a blog was to record the things I’ve cooked over the year. It can be hard to keep track of recipes, changes to recipes, the outcome, etc… plus I like the idea of having pictures of the finished product, even if they have a long way to go until they’re of the quality I’d like. I also must admit that food blogs are the only ones I read regularly and they have given me tons of ideas for new recipes that I might not otherwise have tried, many of which have been really excellent.

So it seems appropriate that the first real thing I’ve cooked since starting a blog is mashed tomato potatoes, a recipe that I’ve been making for so long that I can no longer remember where I came across it in the first place (apologies to whatever cookbook originated it). Back in my pickier and more strictly vegetarian days, I’d eat these as a main course. Now that I’m cooking for my husband as well, I can’t quite get away with that, but it’s a great side along with some chicken or fish. It’s easy to make and is a good twist on classic mashed potatoes…and with all the veggies you can tell yourself it’s healthier, too. 🙂

Mashed tomato potatoes (8 servings, or more like 5-6 if you eat like us)

ingredients: 2 lbs Yukon gold potatoes (about 6), peeled and cut into 2 inch pieces

2 garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter

1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

3 scallions, trimmed and chopped

1/2 cup grated parmesan

1/2 tsp kosher salt

2 lbs salad tomatoes (about 5), chopped (I used Roma in this case)

1. Place potatoes and garlic in large saucepan and cover with lightly salted water. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer about 20 minutes, or until a fork easily pierces a potato.

2. Drain the potatoes and garlic, mash with a potato masher or fork until smooth.

3. Blend in the milk, butter, parsely, scallions, parmesan, and salt. Gently fold in tomatoes.

Voila! Couldn’t be easier!

 

Leave a Reply

