Superspark

a year in food and life

My first Crackberry January 20, 2007

Filed under: Dessert,food,Restaurants — superspark @ 6:32 pm

dsc_0032.JPG

I know I can be a little bit behind the times…I mean, I was a few years late to this whole blogging thing for starters and believe it or not, despite having lived in the LA area for almost a year and a half now, I had my first Pinkberry encounter today. In my defense, I first heard about Pinkberry long ago, when my friend Amanda was in town and stumbled across the shop while visiting her friend in Hollywood. She reported back that she had just been to a fabulous frozen yogurt shop but that it was so quiet and empty it seemed sure to quickly go out of business. Well, others stumbled across it apparently and it caught on because all I’ve been hearing about for the past year is how phenomenal Pinkberry is. Meanwhile, we live out in the relative boonies (Pasadena) and with my hatred of highway driving, we just had not managed to get to a Pinkberry location yet, even though they seem to be rapidly spreading all over the LA area (and now to my hometown, NYC!).

Dylan’s friend Ilya is in town this weekend from Northern California and decided while he was down here, he had to get some Pinkberry, which he said is so addictive it’s also known as Crackberry. I was stuck inside all day, working on a grant proposal to try to line up funding for a post-doc for next year, but made the boys promise that if they were making a frozen yogurt run, they would take some ice packs and a cooler and bring me back some Crackberry, too. Not quite the same as getting it fresh out of the machine in the store, I’d guess, but I’ll take what I can get.

Several hours after they set off for their adventures, Dylan and Ilya returned with a carefully packed, perfectly intact Pinkberry- the staff had even given them extra bags of ice to pack it up so that it would arrive in optimal condition (aside from the very top of the swirl getting smushed). Taking Ilya’s advice, I went for the plain flavor (rather than green tea) and chose raspberries, blueberries, and yogurt chips as my toppings. All in all, I was into it. I don’t know who decided it was as addictive as crack because I certainly wouldn’t go that far, but it was good. It sort of reminded me of when Dylan and I started making the lazy man’s frozen yogurt in our ice cream maker, taking fat-free yogurt and then just adding frozen fruit and letting the machine go. There’s a definite yogurty tang to it- you wouldn’t mistake it for ice cream by any means. So I guess I’d consider myself a little confused as to why everyone seems to be so gaga over it, but I would definitely have it again, were I in the neighborhood.

While I’m thinking about frozen yogurt and ice cream (speaking of which, we made an amazing lavender ice cream last night for a dinner party, but I’ll let Dylan blog about that since it was his creation), anyone have any recommendations for great ice cream or frozen yogurt a little closer to Pasadena? I know about 21 flavors and Fosselman’s, but am always on the lookout for others. I’m kind of shocked that there are so many more interesting ice cream places in frosty Cambridge, MA than in sunny Pasadena.

 

7 Responses to “My first Crackberry”

  1. erin Says:

    If you’re willing to hop the 134 to the 2, you can sample Pazzo Gelato in Silver Lake on Sunset Blvd–delicious, creamy, seasonal flavors–often with fruit from the farmers’ market. Also, over in Eagle Rock, Spitz has decent gelato.

    Finally, in Little Tokyo, just down the 110, there’s a Fiore Frozen Yogurt–similar to Pinkberry, with lots of fresh fruit.

    I don’t know about anything else in Pasadena though–sorry!

  2. T. Vivante Says:

    Hello! Came over from Erin’s Kitchen. Also a Pasadena resident.

    There’s a mighty fine gelato stand (Bulgarini Gelato: http://www.bulgarinigelato.com/news.html) inside the Pacific Asia Museum on Los Robles.

    There’s also Tutti Gelati on Union (http://www.tuttigelati.com/).

    I love Fosselman’s Ice Cream, particularly their Lemon Custard, Peach (when it’s in season), and Mexican Chocolate.

    I’ve never been a huge fan of Pinkberry myself. But if you are going to venture out of Pasadena, my money’s on Pazzo Gelato in Silver Lake. (http://eatingla.blogspot.com/2006/06/taste-test-pazzo-gelato.html)

  3. superspark Says:

    Thanks for the ice cream and gelato recommendations! I am already looking forward to trying them!

    Also thanks go out to Erin of Erin’s Kitchen for linking to my fledgling blog today! 🙂

  4. very insightful read, thankyou.

  5. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  6. […] aids day amber rose kristin cavallari horse slaughter horse slaughter world aids day 2011 chester mcglockton Share […]

  7. Looks so delicious, never tried it.


Leave a Reply

