Superspark

a year in food and life

Tapas at Firefly Bistro February 9, 2007

Filed under: food,Musings,Restaurants — superspark @ 9:58 am

firefly-bistro.jpg
(photo from the Firefly Bistro website)
I had my first blog encounter last night. My friend Jill invited me to meet up with her and her friend Erin (of Erin’s Kitchen, one of my favorite blogs) for a stroll through the South Pasadena farmer’s market followed by a trip to Firefly Bistro. Being fairly new to this whole blogging thing, I had yet to actually meet someone who I’ve know solely through her blog. With apologies to Erin for the silly analogy, it’s sort of like meeting a celebrity in that you feel like you know them and something about their lives, but in reality, you are only familiar with the small windows that they choose to share publicly. That said, it was lovely to meet Erin and learn a little more about the woman outside of her kitchen. 🙂

After a quick stroll through the farmer’s market (where I exhibited commendable restraint by emerging with nothing more than a bunch of green onions), we headed to Firefly for their Thursday night tapas and sangria. The setting is beautiful, a large white tent over candlelit tables. I imagine that it would be a lovely, romantic setting for a Valentine’s Day dinner, were I someone who wanted to fight the crowds that night. The restaurant is fairly pricey, so sangria and tapas were a perfect way to enjoy the atmosphere without breaking the bank. From pear fritters to garlic shrimp to tempura asparagus, the tapas menu was full of interesting and appealing little bites and everything we ordered was well-prepared. All in all, a delightful evening and I plan to return for a full dinner as soon as I have something big to celebrate (like a new job!)

Firefly Bistro: 1009 El Centro Street, South Pasadena, CA 91030 (626)441-2443

 
 
 
 

8 Responses to “Tapas at Firefly Bistro”

  1. Jill Says:

    That was fun! I’m glad we all got to hang out together.

  2. erin Says:

    I second Jill’s comment–it was great! Hope you have a great weekend. Next time I’ll wear really big sunglasses and bring a few paparazzi with me to flesh out the analogy 🙂

  3. […] erin’s kitchen: Farmers’ Market, Firefly, and Friends Superspark: Tapas at Firefly Bistro […]

  4. […] erin’s kitchen: Farmers’ Market, Firefly, and Friends Superspark: Tapas at Firefly Bistro […]

  5. […] report opensky dia frampton dia frampton zook john elway john elway Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  6. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  7. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  8. […] amaro x factor boise state anencephaly texans jordans houston texans houston texans Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

