Superspark

a year in food and life

Tofu and pumpkin seed burgers March 2, 2007

Filed under: food,tofu,veggies — superspark @ 8:42 am

tofu-and-pumpkin-seed-burgers.JPG

I have been singing the praises of Didi Emmons’ Entertaining for a Veggie Planet: 250 Down-to-Earth Recipes since I started this blog and several weeks ago decided that I *must* have a copy of her older cookbook Vegetarian Planet. I had been warned that its recipes tend to have a lot more ingredients than Entertaining for a Veggie Planet which is most definitely true.  But a lot of the recipes look really interesting and with a package of tofu that longed for a more fate than being tossed in just another stir-fry,  I decided to try these tofu and pumpkin seed burgers.

The first thing I should say is that these should only be served to people who really, really like healthy, vegetarian food.  You’re not going to fool meat-lovers with these little patties.  Unlike most of Didi Emmons’ recipes I’ve tried, this one quite clearly fits the slightly negative image of vegetarian food as being tree-hugging, multi-grain, granola-crunching fare.  Which is not to say that the burgers didn’t taste good. In fact the addition of ginger was quite interesting and lovely.  But overall, I was disappointed with them.  Not only would I feel a little uncomfortable pushing them upon anyone beyond my immediate family, but the texture just wasn’t quite right.  I managed to make them into patties without too much trouble, but pan-frying them gently was almost more than they could take and several of them started falling to pieces.  I think including an egg in the mix might help them stick together a bit more, were I to do it again.  But I don’t imagine that I’ll be trying these again soon.  Though I liked them enough, there are packaged veggie burgers that I like better and there are so many other recipes out there that I’d rather spend my time making.

Tofu and pumpkin seed burgers (makes 6-8 burgers)

Ingredients:
4 slices stale or toasted sandwich bread
1 1/2 cups cooked, drained, and rinsed adzuki or black beans (canned is fine)
1/3 cup hulled, unsalted pumpkin seeds, toasted 6 to 8 minutes in a 350 degree oven
1 16-oz package of firm tofu
1 tsp cumin seeds
2 tbsp miso paste (brown-rice miso is best)
3/4 cup minced onion
1/2 tsp salt or more to taste
fresh-ground pepper to taste
1-2 tbsp of canola or corn oil

1. Chop the bread fine or whirl it to crumbs in a food processor. In a food processor or with a potato masher, coarsely chop or mash the beans. Coarsely chop the toasted pumpkin seeds. Combine the beans, bread crumbs, and pumpkin seeds in a large bowl.

2. Cut the tofu into 4 pieces, and squeeze each piece with your hand, letting the crumbled tofu fall into the bowl of mashed beans. Toast the cumin seeds in a small skillet over low heat, stirring, until they become fragrant. Add the ginger, garlic, cumin, miso, and onion to the bowl with the beans and tofu. Mix everything (this will be easiest to do with your hands). Mix in the salt and pepper. The mixture should be stiff enough to form a patty. Ifthe mixture still seems a bit wet, add more bread crumbs. Form the mixture into patties.

3. Heat a large skillet, preferably cast-iron (non-stick skillets don’t yield as crispy a crust), over medium-high heat. Add 1 tbsp oil and place as many burgers in the pan as you can without crowding them. Pan-fry the burgers, in batches, if necessary, until the undersides are a deep golden brown, about 3-4 minutes. Flip the burgers, and cook them about 3-4 minutes more. Serve the burgers right away.

 

7 Responses to “Tofu and pumpkin seed burgers”

  1. Amanda Says:

    For alternate burgers from the Veggie Planet cookbook, I think both the curried carrot walnut burgers and Yucatan burgers (the ones with butternut squash you and I made when you were here in September) are really good, although the carrot ones sometimes resist being formed into pattie (and definitely have a healthy veggie taste to them.)

  2. superspark Says:

    Thanks for your comment! Yeah, the Yucatan burgers from that cookbook were great- much better than these! I’ll have to remember that for next time.

  3. emfle Says:

    Good site!!!

  4. […] We keep a stash of them at home, I’ll order them at restaurants, and I even try to make them from scratch from time to time. But I’ve actually found it surprisingly, shockingly hard to come […]

  5. Oscar Says:

    Have you tried the Speedy Burgers from Vegetarian Planet? I love them!

  6. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  7. […] scores nfl scores college football scores arkansas razorbacks arkansas football maggie daley black friday online deals Share […]


Leave a Reply

