Superspark

a year in food and life

Orzo with shrimp, feta cheese, and white wine March 8, 2007

Filed under: food,Pasta,seafood — superspark @ 4:56 pm

orzo-with-shrimp-feta-cheese-and-white-wine.JPG

What a rude awakening it is to enter the real world. I’m still all excited about my job and even feeling okay about my commute because although long, it takes me to some pretty cool locations. The real drawback of the whole work thing is not having enough time to keep up with the other things I like to do. I’ve barely been able to muster up time to get to the gym these days let alone cook or try to blog about it. I’m quickly coming to the realization that sustaining a food-based blog on a daily basis is a task better left to the unemployed or those whose work involves a little more…shall we say, discretionary time?  So I’m afraid I may soon turn in to a reluctant intermittent food blogger rather than an everyday girl, but I’ll try my best to keep it up. And kudos to those who actually manage to juggle both.

That said, I had had this dish in mind for the last week and with my basil quickly aging past the point of no return, it was last night or never. I found this dish from Bon Appetit April 2003 (via Epicurious) while searching for new ways to use shrimp (and thereby clean out our over-stuffed freezer). Not only did the recipe and the reviews look great, but the fact that we already had orzo, feta, and diced canned tomatoes further suggested that it was meant to be. All in all, it was good. Not fantastic, but perfectly solid. And it was easy enough to make that I would certainly try it again if I found myself in possession of the ingredients. Would I go out of my way to make it again? Well, probably not, but then unless a recipe is truly spectacular these days (like our recent attempt at panade), there are always new dishes I’d rather try.  Fingers crossed that I can find the time to keep it up…

ORZO WITH SHRIMP, FETA CHEESE, AND WHITE WINE (serves 6)

Ingredients:
8 ounces orzo (rice-shaped pasta)
6 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons plus 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1 pound uncooked medium shrimp, peeled, deveined
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 14 1/2-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice
1/2 cup dry white wine
2 teaspoons dried oregano (I omitted this)
1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

1. Preheat oven to 400. Brush 11×7-inch glass baking dish with oil. Cook orzo according to package directions. Drain well and return orzo to same pot. Add 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1/4 cup feta cheese, Parmesan cheese, and 2 tablespoons basil; stir to blend. Arrange orzo mixture in prepared dish.

2. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp and sauté until slightly pink, about 2 minutes (shrimp will not be cooked through). Arrange shrimp atop orzo. Add remaining 2 tablespoons oil to same skillet. Add garlic and sauté over medium-high heat 30 seconds. Add tomatoes with juice; cook 1 minute. Stir in wine, oregano, crushed red pepper, and remaining 1/4 cup basil. Simmer uncovered until reduced to thick sauce consistency, stirring occasionally, about 2 minutes. Season sauce to taste with salt and pepper; spoon over shrimp. Bake orzo until heated through, about 10 minutes. Sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup feta cheese and serve.

 

One Response to “Orzo with shrimp, feta cheese, and white wine”

  1. I found your great site and took time to read your blog and I think its a very good one peep my wine and cheese lol k latez


Leave a Reply

