Superspark

a year in food and life

Urban farming- fig trees March 9, 2007

Filed under: Diversions — superspark @ 12:19 pm

fig-clippings.JPG

For years I thought I hated figs.  Hated, loathed, despised them.  My repulsion was so strong that my father once offered to buy me a CD of my choosing if I would just eat an entire dried fig.  This was, of course, way back when the promise of a new CD was exciting enough to make me contemplate his proposal.  (Which I’m sure I must have ultimately accepted, choking down my dry and chewy nemesis.)

Little did I realize that dried figs are as different from fresh figs as night and day (old cliche, I know…work with me here, I no longer have the time to think up clever similies.)  When travelling in Slovenia a few summers ago,  we found ourselves at a farmer’s market in Ljubliana where Dylan convinced me to try a fresh fig.  In the throes of new love, I barely put up a fight, not wanting to share my admittedly juvenile anti-fig neuroses.  What a revelation! These fresh figs were juicy, dense with flavor, and warmed by the sun.  I couldn’t get enough of them and ate them throughout our trip around Eastern Europe.

Luckily, I find myself living in Southern California now in just the sort of Mediterranean climate that best suits figs.  And apparently fig trees are easy enough to grow from clippings that we thought we’d give it a shot.  We took clippings from the tree overhanging our friends Jill and Gavin’s yard and potted them last weekend, hoping that at least one might take root.  In fact, at the farmer’s market a few weeks ago, there was a vendor selling potted figs some of which were only about 2 feet tall but had already fruited! With any luck we’ll have a tiny crop later in the summer…

 

4 Responses to “Urban farming- fig trees”

  1. Jill Says:

    Fig babies! I’m glad that particular fig tree will have offspring.

  2. Dylan Says:

    Fig update: it looks like all five are growing now. At least until we forget to water them for a week during a hot spell (the fate of last year’s tomatoes).

  3. […] zucchini grow notably longer, our tomatoes seem to multiply, and our fig “trees”, just tiny bare clippings a few months ago, get ever leafier and more verdant. Frankly, we’re like a couple of proud […]

  4. […] news that’s thrilling to newbie “gardeners” like us, some of you might remember a post I wrote in early March about planting fig clippings that we took from a tree overhanging my friend Jill’s yard. At the time they were pathetic, […]


Leave a Reply

