Superspark

a year in food and life

Mecca azteca salad April 19, 2007

Filed under: food,grains,salads,veggies — superspark @ 1:41 pm

mecca-azteca-salad.jpg

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about Native Foods, a local Southern California chain of vegan restaurants featuring incredibly fresh, natural, healthy dishes. Shortly after, my friend Amanda came to visit for a long weekend and though we had intended to take a trip to Native Foods, we became so busy with cooking, gymming, and watching DVDs of Nip/Tuck that we didn’t make it there. But, ever the gracious house guest, a few days after her departure, the The Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook arrived at my doorstep as a little thank you gift. (Thank you, Amanda!)

Seeing as how Amanda had been particularly drawn to the Ensalada Azteca from the menu (reincarnated as the Mecca Azteca in the cookbook), I thought it was an apt place to start for my first foray into the cookbook. Turns out it was a great choice. The salad was terrific, and very different from the ones I usually make. Usually, I feel deprived if my salad doesn’t have cheese or nuts, but there were so many flavors and textures in the Mecca Azteca that I didn’t miss the fattier add-ins. This is a great way to get your veggies and mango lovers wil particularly appreciate having both a fresh mango garnish and the mango-based dressing.

As for the cookbook in general, it definitely has a low-budget feel, being little more than recipes with a few brief comments and no pictures whatsoever. In other words, it might not jump off of the shelf at you, but experience thus far says it’s worth looking beyond its aesthetics. And I may even try some of the many tempeh and seitan recipes in it; normally I shy away from meat substitutes, but given how outstanding my experiences with Native Foods (both the restaurant and the cookbook) have been to date, I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt.

This is my entry for Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted this week by Sher of What Did You Eat?.

Mecca Azteca Salad (4 large servings)

Salad ingredients:
1 cup chopped tomato
1 cup peeled, chopped cucumber
1 cup chopped jicama
1 cup chopped avocado
1/2 cup chopped red onion
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp sea salt
2 cups mixed salad greens
4 cups cooked quinoa, cooled

Mango lime dressing:
1 cup chopped fresh of frozen mango (I used Trader Joe’s mango sauce, which is already mostly pureed)
1/2 cup safflower, sunflower, or canola oil
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup lime juice
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger

garnish:
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves
4 tbsp roasted pumpkin seeds
4 tbsp currants, raisins, or chopped dates
4 slices fresh mango
1 tsp chipotle powder or cayenne pepper

1. To prepare quinoa, bring 2 cups of water per 1 cup of couscous to boil. Add couscous, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 10-15 minutes. If there’s any water left in the pot at that point, just let it sit, removed from heat, to absorb remaining liquid.

2. To prepare salad dressing, place all ingredients in a blender and puree (or use stick blender). If you use frozen mango, you can either defrost first or blend frozen (the blender will defrost it).

3. In a bowl, combine tomato, cucumber, jicama, avocado, and red onion. Toss with lemon juice and sea salt. Divide salad greens onto 4 plates, top each with about a cup of couscous. On each serving, drizzle quinoa with about 2 tbsp mango lime vinaigrette. On each serving, place 1/4 of the tomato mixture on top of the quinoa. Drizzle a bit more lime vinagrette on top of the tomato mixture on each serving. Garnish with fresh cilantro, pumpkin seeds, currants, fresh mango slices, and chipotle powder.

 

8 Responses to “Mecca azteca salad”

  1. sher Says:

    Emily, this looks absolutely wonderful. We like this kind of salad in our house very much, so thank you for sharing this with us. The picture makes me very hungry! 🙂

  2. Helene Says:

    I agree with Sher. It´s wonderful, and I love quinoa in summer salads, thanks for sharing, The picture makes me want to do it straight on! 🙂

  3. Kalyn Says:

    This sounds wonderfully fresh-tasting, with enough varied ingredients to make it really interesting. Lovely photo too. I just made something with mangos this week and remembered how much I love that flavor.

  4. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  5. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  6. […] news syracuse shonn greene oklahoma state plane crash syracuse university best buy black friday 2011 ads broncos jets Share this:TwitterFacebookLike […]

  7. […] tufnel day black friday deals molokai molokai ashton kutcher twitter sandusky barbados Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  8. Delmer Says:

    hmm.. i just subscribed on wednesday. i wonder if i made the mailing cut-off? when will the next letters be sent out.


Leave a Reply

