Superspark

a year in food and life

Springtime panzanella April 24, 2007

Filed under: food,salads,veggies — superspark @ 8:33 am

springtime-panzanella.jpg

I wish I could say I was the genius behind springtime panzanella, but the credit goes to Chef Michael Chiarello and Well Fed for dreaming up this little bit of heaven. This dish is not going to win any awards for beauty, but the taste is absolutely terrific. I used to consider myself a pasta person, but after having this and panade, I think I’ve become a bread-soaked-in-something-delicious-and-fattening type of girl. Despite its green appearance, springtime panzanella isn’t exactly health food; yes, there are loads of peas and a bed of spring greens, but it’s the butter, cheese, and heavy cream that make those little croutons so unforgettable.

I cheated on this recipe in a number of ways, using half the amount of butter suggested, lazily using frozen peas instead of fresh, substituting more Pecorino romano for the Pecorino toscano, and skipping the olive oil in the dressing (a change suggested by Erin of Erin’s Kitchen) and yet this recipe was still unbelievably good. I recommend using the best day-old bread you can find and if you’re one of the few who still haven’t made Jim Lahey’s easy-as-can-be no-knead bread, now is the time to do it. A little bit crunchy, a little bit creamy and chewy, and a whole lot of delicious, springtime panzanella was a downright delight. Run, don’t walk, to Well Fed for the recipe.

 

3 Responses to “Springtime panzanella”

  1. erin Says:

    Glad you liked it! Well Fed is one of my fav food blogs–very methodical and yummy recipes. I’ve been dreaming about this salad ever since I made it last Sunday. I think I’ll follow Well Fed’s advice and add asparagus next time.

  2. Glenna Says:

    It looks divine. Panzanella is one of those dishes that I’ve only made once but every time I see it I remind myself I need to do it again. Yours looks lovely.

  3. […] of soggy bread-based dishes this year has been a revelation. Ever since trying out the fabulous springtime panzanella, originally posted on Well Fed, I’ve been chomping at the bit to try a more traditional […]


Leave a Reply

