Superspark

a year in food and life

Strawberry rhubarb crumble June 10, 2007

Filed under: Dessert,food — superspark @ 10:14 am

strawberry-rhubarb-crumble-1.jpg

Has someone declared this national rhubarb month? It seems that every other blog post I read these days boasts another mouth-watering creation with rhubarb, usually twinned with its classic partner, strawberries. So what could I do but join the club? Picking my poison, so to speak, was the biggest challenge. I hemmed and hawed over rhubarb and white chocolate cupcakes, rhubarb oatmeal bread, rhubarb and quince compote with strawberries and apple granite, and rhubarb jumble before finally deciding upon Smitten Kitchen’s easy-as-can-be strawberry-rhubarb crumble.

I am a serious fan of crumbles, especially those that pay close attention to the all important fruit-to-crumble ratio, ensuring a bite of buttery, crunchy crumble in every mouthful. Nothing makes me sadder than those last bites of a topping-depauperate crumble, where the fruit swims naked in nothing but its own juices. (Well, except for a cake without enough frosting, which I consider a true travesty and it makes me upset just to think about it!) If you share this psychosis attention to detail, may I suggest Smitten Kitchen’s strawberry-rhubarb crumble recipe, derived from a Nigella Lawson recipe in the New York Times? The perfect blend of sweet, tart fruit and blissfully delicious crumbles, it was like a little piece of heaven when it emerged warm and fragrant from the oven, with fuschia fruit juices bubbling temptingly. A spectacular choice, if I must say so myself.

I won’t recreate the recipe, since I followed it word for word from Deb’s recipe here. (Thank you Deb! Thank you Nigella!)

Incidentally, as if to offer further proof that food bloggers around the world have converged upon rhubarb as their fruit of choice this month, during the single week that I was racing home from work to curl up with a bowl of delightful crumble, no fewer than three of my favorite blogs posted similar recipes. Whether you go with Erin‘s variation on the crumble theme, Susan‘s strawberry-rhubarb sponge cake (yum!), or the incomparable Dorie Greenspan‘s strawberry-rhubarb cobbler, I say embrace this delicious craze. Next up on my rhubarb hit list? Strawberry-rhubarb-ginger ice cream. Can’t wait!

strawberry-rhubarb-crumble-2.jpg

 

One Response to “Strawberry rhubarb crumble”

  1. Jill Says:

    Yum! That looks and sounds delicious.


Leave a Reply

