Superspark

a year in food and life

Doughboys June 28, 2007

Filed under: food,Restaurants — superspark @ 9:21 pm

Sometimes you come across a restaurant you like so much that it makes you wonder whether the discovery was a blessing or a curse. Doughboys, in West Hollywood, is one of those places and while my id wishes I lived right next door so that I could just roll out of bed and eat there on any and every given day, my more abstemious superego sighs in relief that I live far, far away. Doughboys is a mere 1/2 mile jaunt down 3rd street from my office, though, and I can only hope that laziness, vanity, or reason will prevent me from yielding to temptation too often at lunchtime.

Doughboys is the sort of place that I’d like to go for brunch EVERY single Sunday. One look at the enormous menu (which merits checking out online though I don’t think it includes everything), with a full page of mouth-watering, served-all-day breakfast treats and I was hooked. The one time Dylan had been there previously, he came home raving about their blueberry flaxseed pancakes (perhaps the healthiest thing on the menu), so much so that we recreated them at home the very next day. And the Sunday after that…and the one after that. You get the point.

When we went to Doughboy’s recently for a going-away lunch with our friend Natalia, who is off to Oregon to study volcanoes, I was in the rare mood for something savory and couldn’t resist the afterschool special, a humungous bowl of tomato soup paired with an ooey, gooey grilled cheese sandwich. Like most of the menu, it’s comfort food with a modern, upscale twist. The grilled cheese, featuring what felt like a whole pound of emmenthal, fontina, and cheddar, was a big step up from those nasty American cheese slices that many places serve as comfort food.  The tomato soup was similarly delicious with a little bit of texture and veggie bits unlike the totally homogenous stuff that comes out of a can. I stuffed myself at lunch and yet still had enough left to make a dinner of it that night as well.

Next time you can bet I’ll be ordering from the griddle and already have my sights set on the black and whites, their spin on the classic chocolate chip pancake. I don’t think I’ve ordered a chocolate chip pancake since I nearly ate myself ill on one at IHOP as a kid, but the lure of dark and white chocolate chunks with raspberry syrup on top may just be too much to resist. Any other recommendations from Doughboys afficianados?

Doughboys on 3rd: 8136 3rd street, Los Angeles, CA 90046 (323)651-4202

Doughboys on Highland: 1156 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90038 (323) 467-9117

 

4 Responses to “Doughboys”

  1. Jill Says:

    I love Doughboys, too! I’ve been going there for years! My latest favorite thing to order is the toad in the hole.

  2. Grant Says:

    They have great dinners there too. In the winter I love to go there to have their fantastic soup, all of which is fantastic. Especially the French Onion and clam chowder. The salads and sandwiches are great and I swear, their red velvet cake is the best in the city. While I find every single cupcake I encounter to be dry, their cake is so very moist. It’s amazing.

  3. superspark Says:

    Thanks for the tips! I am a huge fan of red velvet cake and was ogling the one at Doughboys (despite being too full to even attempt to try it)…next time.

  4. Carrie Says:

    I LOVE Doughboys. Have you been to Joan’s on 3rd? I know it’s not exactly the same kind of food, but I equate with my favorite bakery-cafe style restuarants in the West Hollywood Area.

    Joan’s has good psuedo hostess cupcakes complete with the cream filling.


Leave a Reply

