Superspark

a year in food and life

Chickpea potato curry July 6, 2007

Filed under: food — superspark @ 5:56 am

potato-chickpea-curry.jpg

The top 5 things I like about Hands-Off Cooking: Low-Supervision, High-Flavor Meals for Busy People‘s Chickpea Potato Curry (which comes to me via Simply Recipes):

1. One pot. My threshold for multiple-pot recipes has risen since started Superspark, I’ll admit, but I still grit my teeth when confronted with a pile of pots and pans, wondering whether they were all entirely necessary. The relative novelty of a one pot recipe reminds me of my less ambitious culinary days and leaves me with lots of post-dinner downtime. Hooray!

2. A mere one tbsp of butter. That’s right, I’m feeling tremendously virtuous about a filling meal with just a single tablespoon of butter divided among at least four healthy servings- and there’s not a drop of oil in the pot! Looks like I can indulge in Dylan’s homemade mango ice cream tonight without even a smidgen of guilt.

3. A reasonable curry…I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to Indian food. I like it, but all too often I find myself with a bit of er… digestive distress, shall we say, afterwards. Although I could feel a little heat on this one as it went down my esophagus and into my stomach and there was no shortage of flavor, I’m happy to report that I’m feeling none of the usual after effects.

4. A pantry-based meal. I’m all for eating fresh veggies, but realistically, there are days when there’s not a whole lot of greenery in the house and the refrigerator is bare save for an aging condiment collection. It’s nice to know that nearly everything I need to whip this little puppy up is sitting in my pantry. Add a little fresh ginger, some onions, and some potatoes to a little rice, some spices, and a few cans of beans and tomatoes and you’re good to go.

5. Versatility. Like many one-pot dishes, you can toss in some extras that are begging to be used. In our case, there was some seriously old spinach in need of a final home. I just tossed the leaves in with about 5 minutes left in the cooking process, and voila, a lovely touch of greenery!

Chickpea potato curry (serves 4-6 as a main dish)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
2 15-ounce cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed
14 1/2-ounce can fire-roasted or stewed tomatoes with chiles (Muir Glen brand is recommended)
6 new potatoes (about 12 ounces), quartered
1 medium onion, diced
1 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 tsp minced ginger
1-2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1. Combine all of the ingredients in a large pot and stir, making sure the potatoes are in the liquid.

2. Simmer uncovered over medium heat for 35 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. Add more salt to taste. Serve over rice.

 

One Response to “Chickpea potato curry”

  1. connie Says:

    looks yummy and i’m with you on liking recipes that use only 1 pot. i don’t have a big enough kitchen to keep a lot of pots {or someone to cajole into doing the dishes 🙂 }


Leave a Reply

