Superspark

a year in food and life

Waldorf salad reinvented September 3, 2007

Filed under: food,salads,veggies — superspark @ 8:38 am

waldorf-salad-reinvented.jpg

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve found myself simultaneously drawn to and repelled by Waldorf salad. The attraction, no doubt, originated in the discovery that something deemed a salad might be laden with fruit and nuts. Today it’s standard for apples, raisins, and walnuts to be added to salads, but growing up in the early 80s, as I did, a salad usually meant iceberg lettuce, a couple of sickly tomatoes, cucumber slices, and some julienned carrots. At the same time, I’ve always been repulsed by Waldorf salads because like many typical summery salads, they tend to be doused in mayonnaise, which I just loathe.

This recipe from Gourmet (October 1995) via Epicurious , takes the traditional Waldorf and tips it on its head to create a light, summery, and utterly healthy dish for those who, like me, appreciate a sweeter salad. The Waldorf, invented in the late 1800s at New York’s Waldorf Hotel (later the Waldorf-Astoria), typically consists of walnuts, apples, celery, and raisins, coated in a dressing of mayo and lemon juice, and served over lettuce. This incarnation is a much healthier spin, with fruit, fiber, and a whole lot of texture. Instead of drowning in mayo, the reinvented Waldorf is barely dressed, allowing its flavorful ingredients to shine through. Just a touch of orange juice and rice vinegar keep the salad moist and pull everything together.

The other big change from the traditional Waldorf is the addition of wheat berries. I was skeptical at first, having had made some not-so-hot wheat berry salads in the past, but here they were a lovely addition. Not only did they make the salad hearty enough to stand on its own, but they provided a slight nuttiness and a great chewy texture to balance the crisp apples and crunchy walnuts. If you don’t like wheat berries, you could substitute another grain like barley, but I think the wheat berries work very nicely. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised at how well this recipe turned out and happy to have finally found a Waldorf salad that I can truly enjoy.

Reinvented Waldorf salad (4-6 servings)

Ingredients:
4 cups water
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup wheat berries
2 tablespoons walnuts, toasted and chopped
1 Gala or McIntosh apple
1 Granny Smith apple
1 celery rib, sliced thin
2/3 cup packed fresh mint leaves, washed well, spun dry, and chopped
1/2 cup dried sour cherries
1/4 cup golden raisins (I substituted craisins)
2 scallions, chopped
3 tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar
3 tablespoons fresh orange juice
3/4 teaspoon freshly grated orange zest

1. In a saucepan bring water and salt to a boil and add wheat berries. Simmer wheat berries, covered, 1 1/2 hours, or until tender. Drain wheat berries in a colander and cool to room temperature.

2. Cut apples into 1/2-inch chunks and in a large bowl toss with wheat berries and all remaining ingredients. Season salad with salt and pepper and serve alone or over lettuce.

 

14 Responses to “Waldorf salad reinvented”

  1. Oooh! We’ll have to try this. I hate mayonnaise in salad, too.

    By the way, there are more figs on the tree if you guys want to come get some.

  2. Rhea Says:

    Waldorf salad is the first ‘dish’ I ever cooked. I was about 7.

  3. […] out and happy to have finally found a Waldorf salad that I can truly enjoy…. source: Waldorf salad reinvented, […]

  4. […] salads to fight off the overwhelming sense of constantly being in a heavy food coma. Some were good, some were blah, but all in all, I was happy enough with this new addition to our diet that that […]

  5. mahsa Says:

    it`s veryyyyy gooodd

  6. Hi. solid information on Maqui Berry. I saw your good blog while searching yahoo. For the preceding few days I’ve been trying to learn more. Particularly anything to do with the dieting talk. I’ve seen it all and my sister keeps advertising her newfound weight loss craze on me. So I’m happy I found you. Bye!

  7. lewis Says:

    ave tried your waldorf salads and they are great.

  8. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  9. […] muppet movie the muppet movie mars rover mars rover trent richardson apple cup jewelry stores Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  10. Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  11. […] bieber paternity denver news kym johnson how old is justin bieber how old is justin bieber north dakota jobs referendum Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry […]

  12. […] bowl cedric benson playoff schedule pinewood derby cars charles addams republican debate tonight tinker tailor soldier […]

  13. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  14. Thanks for sharing your recipe.


Leave a Reply

