Superspark

a year in food and life

Ricotta spaetzle September 21, 2007

Filed under: food — superspark @ 6:05 am

ricotta-spaetzle.jpg

On my top ten list of things I would eat all the time, if I could, is spaetzle. For me, it has all the things I like best about homemade pasta, with a mere fraction of the effort. Plus the little dumpling shape gives it just a bit of chewiness. As I’ve said before, I just love the stuff.

My one complaint and what probably keeps me from eating it once a week or more, is the lack of variation. Imagine eating only fettucine- wouldn’t you miss angel hair, spaghetti, capellini, linguine, and lasagna? (Not to mention the wonderful array of shapes like gemelli, penne, mostaciolli, cavatappi, etc…) Such is my problem with spaetzle. The tiny dumplings can be little bit bigger or small depending on whether you plunk them into boiling water using a spoon, a colander, or a spaetzle maker. And of course, you can top them with various sauces and European-style mac and cheese. But I’m always on the look-out for new variations to jazz up my basic spaetzle recipe.

Last month, the folks over at Apartment Therapy: the Kitchen posted their recipe for ricotta spaetzle, declaring it to be as light as little clouds. Though I’ve been salivating over the thought of it for weeks now, I just got around to making it the other night. Like any spaetzle, it is shockingly easy to make: just mix flour, egg, water, ricotta, and salt in a bowl, then push it through a strainer into boiling water and cook for about 2 minutes. Voila! A great dinner in 10 minutes. I didn’t think these spaetzle were SO different than the ordinary, ricotta-free recipe, but there was touch more cheesiness and fluffiness than you get from the original recipe. I kept it simple by just putting a pat of butter and some chives on top. Frankly, I ended up having to pack up half of the recipe right away to stop myself from eating the entire two-portion serving.

Anyone have any other favorite spaetzle variations to offer?

Ricotta spaetzle (serves 2, can be easily doubled)

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup ricotta
2 tablespoons water

1. Set a large pot of water to boil. Whisk the the flour and salt together. In a separate cup whisk the eggs with ricotta and water until smooth and frothy. Add to the flour and whisk to combine. The batter will be thick and doughy.

2. If you want larger spaetzle, when the water is boiling, scoop the tip of a teaspoon into the batter and drop quickly into the water, pushing the batter off with your finger. Repeat, quickly, until top layer of water is full of spaetzle. If you want smaller spaetzle, put dough into a spaetzle maker or colander, rest atop boiling water, and push dough through holes. Let them boil for about two minutes, or until they all float to the top.

3. Remove with a slotted spoon and repeat with the rest of the batter. Don’t worry too much about overcooking these; the ricotta keeps them light and fluffy. Just try to get them out within a few minutes. (You may need to do more than one batch if there’s too much dough to make a single layer of spaetzle in the pot.)

4. Toss with a small drizzle of butter and a grind of pepper. Top with chopped herbs of your choice.

 

8 Responses to “Ricotta spaetzle”

  1. Sounds delicious and pretty simple too.

  2. […] first got the idea after seeing an easy-seeming recipe for spätzle here. My suggesting we make it for dinner on Tuesday quickly spiraled into an entire German Abendessen, […]

  3. […] Late Summer Pizza with Four Cheeses, Sweet Cherry Tomatoes, and Fresh Oregano from Stephencooks, Ricotta Spaetzle from Superspark, Spanish Burgers with Manchego and Chorizo Hash Browns from Sweetnicks, Pureed […]

  4. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  5. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  6. […] news syracuse shonn greene oklahoma state plane crash syracuse university best buy black friday 2011 ads broncos jets Share […]

  7. […] tufnel day black friday deals molokai molokai ashton kutcher twitter sandusky barbados Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]


Leave a Reply

