Superspark

a year in food and life

Couscous and feta stuffed peppers November 20, 2007

Filed under: food,grains,veggies — superspark @ 10:57 am

stuffed-peppers.JPG

You know how the default vegetarian option at weddings usually seems to be polenta or a portabella mushroom? And more often than not it’s mediocre polenta or the mushroom is all tough and chewy? I sort of feel the same way about stuffed peppers. They’re something that vegetarians are supposed to like, something that’s supposed to be interesting and filling enough to appeal to meat-eaters as well. I gotta say, though, despite their versatility, the fact that you can fill them with just about anything, I’ve never had a stuffed pepper that really wowed me. They always seem sort of unwieldy to eat and the soggy, watery pepper just doesn’t do much for me.

If ever I were to fall in love with a stuffed pepper, to finally try one that called my name, I thought it might be Smitten Kitchen’s couscous and feta stuffed peppers. I’ve been a big fan of Deb’s blog (who isn’t, though?) and have had some pretty great luck trying her recipes in the past. So after trying out these peppers a few weeks ago I can only conclude that stuffed peppers are just not for me. They weren’t terrible, but frankly, I’d rather just skip the pepper altogether and eat the filling, in this case a nice combination of feta, couscous, summer squash, chick peas, and tomatoes.

Anyone have a recipe for stuffed peppers that will make me change my mind about them?

Couscous and Feta-Stuffed Peppers(makes about 6 peppers)

Ingredients:
Vegetable-oil cooking spray
1 1/4 cups fat-free chicken or vegetable broth
2/3 cup couscous
4 extra-large or 5 large bell peppers, mixed colors
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
6 oz zucchini, quartered lengthwise then sliced across thinly
6 oz yellow squash, quartered lengthwise then sliced across thinly
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half
15 oz canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 oz crumbled feta cheese (about 1 cup)
3 tablespoons tomato paste

1. Preheat oven to 350°F F. Coat a small baking dish with cooking spray. Bring the broth to a boil in a saucepan, add the couscous, cover the pan and remove it from the heat. Cut the stems and top half inch off the bell peppers and scoop out the seeds and membranes.

2. Place peppers upright in a baking dish and roast them for 15 minutes or so, until they soften, then remove them from the oven until the filling is ready.

3. Heat oil in a nonstick skillet. Add onion, zucchini, yellow squash, fennel seeds, oregano, and salt. Cook, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes or until vegetables are softened. Remove from heat and stir in the tomatoes, chickpeas and tomato paste. Using a fork, scrape the couscous into the skillet and toss with the vegetables. Stir in the crumbled feta.

4. Fill peppers with the couscous mixture. Bake 15 minutes. Serve immediately.

 

12 Responses to “Couscous and feta stuffed peppers”

  1. vicky morley Says:

    i lovee fooodd :]

  2. Jaiel Powers Says:

    I’ve been looking for a recipe for vegetarian stuffed peppers and this sounds like the best one I’ve come across so far.

  3. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  4. […] and butthead cardinals jennifer nicole lee jennifer nicole lee chris harris peter schiff matt holliday Share […]

  5. Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  6. […] sister wives st louis weather jack the cat frank lucas lego man lego man cheryl hines Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Uncategorized by tolliverjo68. Bookmark the permalink. […]

  7. […] cl p cl p andy rooney andy rooney groupon ipo groupon ipo breeders cup 2011 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  8. […] bowl cedric benson playoff schedule pinewood derby cars charles addams republican debate tonight tinker tailor soldier spy Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]

  9. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  10. This is my first time seeing peppers could be stuffed with food ingredients.

  11. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering
    your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange methods with other folks, be sure
    to shoot me an email if interested.


Leave a Reply

