Superspark

a year in food and life

Crispy panko mustard chicken January 17, 2008

Filed under: chicken,food — superspark @ 8:53 am

crispy-panko-mustard-chicken.jpg

It may not look like much, but this may very well be the absolute best healthy chicken breast recipe ever. I say healthy because it wouldn’t be fair to include something like fried chicken in a comparison with its lower fat breathren. But among the slew of recipes attempting to make something moist, tender, and delicious out of those frozen breasts that resemble hockey pucks more than anything you’d want to eat, this recipe really stands out. In truth, we rarely dip into the giant bag of chicken breasts in our freezer because they rarely amount to anything interesting and usually turn out chewy or bland. So what a revelation to find this recipe for crispy panko mustard chicken originally posted here on Cooking with Amy.

Expecting the usual ho-hum healthy chicken breasts last night when I pulled these out of the oven, we were downright shocked at how good they turned out to be. Beyond their crispy golden exterior (thanks to panko, the Japanese bread crumbs), they were incredibly moist and tender, to the point that I had to ask myself whether they were really done- they didn’t have the slightest trace of toughness or dryness characteristic of the chicken breasts that usually come out of our oven. The mustard gave them enough kick that they didn’t need a lick of sauce or additional spices and the panko gave a crunch reminiscent of fried chicken. I will even go so far to say that I haven’t had chicken this good anywhere in recent memory- not at home, not at a friend’s house, not even in a restaurant. Many thanks to Amy for coming up with this incredibly easy, quick, and delicious recipe that is going straight to our list of stand-by weeknight recipes.

Crispy Panko Mustard Chicken (serves 2, easily multiplied to make a larger quantity)

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 Tbsp mustard
1/4 cup panko
several tbsp of flour
2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

(N.B.: If you’re using frozen chicken breasts, be sure to defrost them first by putting them in a bowl full of cool water for 30 minutes or so. They’ll defrost faster if you change the water more frequently.)

1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Melt the butter in a small dish in a microwave oven then combine the butter with the panko crumbs in a small mixing bowl.

2. If your chicken breasts are wet, dry them thoroughly with a paper towel. Then sprinkle lightly with flour, coating the entire breast. Shake off any excess. (This will help the mustard and panko mixture to stick to the breasts.)

3. Coat chicken breasts with mustard then place on a greased, foil-lined baking sheet, top with crumbs and bake approximately 15 minutes or until cooked through and golden brown.

 

19 Responses to “Crispy panko mustard chicken”

  1. Amy Says:

    I think you just made my day! I’m so glad you like it. You’re right, it’s easy, healthy and tasty, what more could you want?

  2. david Says:

    This looks delicious. I should go eat something. Maybe this, though I don’t know if I have any panko.

  3. Eliza Says:

    This is amazing…You saved dinner. For real.

  4. Greg Says:

    Looks like I’m late to this thread, but I came across it in a google search for chicken breasts and panko. I’d like to make this soon… I have two questions… first, since I’d be using some plump organic chicken breasts and not the frozen in-a-bag kind, would it be better to halve the breasts, and maybe change the cooking time? Second, what kind of mustard are you using? I have a lot on hand, from French’s to Guilden’s to Grey Poupon, so I’m ready either way. Thanks!

    • superspark Says:

      Hi Greg-

      Good questions. You might have to do a bit of experimentation to make the recipe work correctly with your chicken breasts. That said, our frozen ones were pretty large (we routinely halve them, but didn’t in this case), so you might start with the recipe as is. If you decide to halve them, I think the key is that the mustard/panko combo holds in the moisture so you might be able to get away with leaving the baking time as is (or only slightly shorter). As for mustards, go with what you like! We used a dijon and it was terrific. Hope the dish works out for you and that you enjoy it as much as we did!

  5. ttfn300 Says:

    this was fantastic, so easy and delicious πŸ™‚

    • Rebekah Says:

      I am trying this tonight, it looks great! I’m using fresh but will pound the breast down a bit if they’re thick to keep the cooking time the same πŸ™‚ I can’t wait!

  6. MaggieP Says:

    I’ve tried this but mixed the dijon with maple syrup (3 tbsp mustard, 2 tbsp grade a or b MAPLE – not table – syrup). It was delicious!!

  7. Jim Says:

    I just tried this.. w/ a bit of a twist, I cut the chicken breast into tenders & used homemade lemon zest/dill Dijon and freshly made panko… came out pretty tasy.

  8. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  9. […] herman cain harry potter and the half blood prince city of ember city of ember virgin diaries kevin smith kevin smith Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  10. Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  11. […] wives st louis weather jack the cat frank lucas lego man lego man cheryl hines Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  12. […] p cl p andy rooney andy rooney groupon ipo groupon ipo breeders cup 2011 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  13. […] bowl cedric benson playoff schedule pinewood derby cars charles addams republican debate tonight tinker tailor soldier spy Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Categories […]

  14. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  15. The chicken really looks delicious.


Leave a Reply

