Superspark

a year in food and life

Kung pao tofu with udon noodles February 2, 2008

Filed under: food,Pasta,tofu,veggies — superspark @ 11:43 am

kung-pao-tofu.jpg

I actually made this recipe several weeks ago, but felt like I had to wait to post it until now. Why, you ask? In the post-holiday fog of appetite loss and upset stomach, I was having an awfully hard time coming up with anything that sounded appetizing, that would motivate me to start cooking again. Going through the hundreds of recipes in my Google reader, representing dozens of different blogs, I could only manage to pick out a couple that actually appealed to me. As it happens, both were from Everybody Likes Sandwiches. I made the first, a terrifically simple and tasty minestrone one night and quickly followed it up with this kung pao tofu a couple of days later.

Lest Kickpleat think I’m a recipe stalker, though, I held off on posting the kung pao tofu until now. My appetite thankfully back in full force, I’ve been cooking up a storm over the past couple of weeks, happily scouring all of my cookbooks and favorite blogs again. So what about this kung pao tofu? Well, for starters I should say that I always love a tofu stirfry and that any opportunity to use udon noodles strikes my fancy. As for this particular stirfry, I liked it. Seriously spicy and chock full of veggies, the stirfry was filling and healthy, ideal for combatting the holiday over-indulgence. I can’t say it wowed me as much as the minestrone did, but with my peanut-allergic husband unable to eat it, I was perfectly happy to eat the leftovers for lunch over the next few days. What more can you ask?

Kung pao tofu with udon noodles (serves 4)

Ingredients:

1 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp canola oil
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
1 small head of broccoli, broken into florets
2 carrots, sliced on the diagonal
1 rib of celery, sliced on the diagonal
1 small packet of prepared udon noodles
1/2 block tofu, cubed
1/4 cup peanuts, chopped

sauce:
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup orange juice
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tbsp ginger, minced
1 tbsp chili paste or asian hot sauce (the one with the rooster on the bottle)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp bottled peanut sauce (I substituted peanut butter)
1 tbsp cornstarch

1. Mix sauce ingredients and set aside.

2. Heat oil in a large skillet. Add onion and garlic and saute for 1 minute or until soft. Add carrots, celery and broccoli and stir-fry until crisp-tender. Add the sauce and the udon noodles and combine well.

3. In a separate pan, fry tofu in a bit of oil until golden on all sides. Add tofu and peanuts to the vegetable mixture, stirring gently to coat with sauce.

 

9 Responses to “Kung pao tofu with udon noodles”

  1. simplekitchen Says:

    Looks so yummy .. thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. […] only manage to pick out a couple that actually appealed to me. As it happens, both were…[Click here for the original article] Share […]

  3. kickpleat Says:

    stalk away! glad you liked both recipes 🙂

  4. […] ohio zanesville ohio light field camera world series game 1 exotic animals exotic animals scott hall Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  5. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  7. […] vs margarito miguel cotto cotto ncaa bowl games bowls honey badger brooke mueller Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  8. […] matt jones snow white and the huntsman trailer snow white and the huntsman trailer sexiest man alive kentucky basketball heather locklear bob costas Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Categories Uncategorized […]

  9. I love to try this food.


Leave a Reply

