Superspark

a year in food and life

Pumpkin ginger nut muffins March 14, 2008

Filed under: baked goods,breakfast,food — superspark @ 5:57 am
pumpkin-ginger-nut-muffins.jpg
Are you ever haunted by the things in your freezer? Being a self-avowed non-food-waster, except under the most dire circumstances (like a recent spicy chick pea dish that ended up so salty it literally hurt to eat it), I’m forever freezing smidges of this and bits of that. Once my leftover ingredients get tucked into the freezer, however, it can be a little more difficult to remember what’s in there, which reminds me of some lemongrass that I have totally forgotten about, but I digress… In a particularly organized moment a while back, I not only saved a cup of pumpkin puree (leftover from a dish long forgotten), but managed to put a note on the refrigerator to remind me of its presence. A great system, for I certainly remembered that the pumpkin was in there, but just couldn’t come up with anything I wanted to cook that required precisely one cup’s worth. With spring cresting here in Los Angeles, it’s hard to motivate to make anything autumnal, and what says fall more than pumpkin?
But in the end, my conservatory urges, that little voice inside my head telling me not to let food go to waste, won out and I decided to make this recipe for recipe for pumpkin ginger nut muffins posted by Elise of Simply Recipes. I tag a lot of baked goods as I peruse my list of blogs each day with the best of intentions to make them, but in the end I rarely get around to it, talking myself out of them as unhealthy and unnecessary. Do I really need to bring 15 muffins into my life when I’m surviving perfectly well on oatmeal and cereal? In this case, yes. They were delicious- a decidedly pumpkin flavor studded with chopped pecans and the occasional chunk of candied ginger. Fresh out of the oven, they were good enough to eat for dessert, but are probably ideally made right before a big brunch with friends. With almost no labor involved, you’ll have your nearest and dearest ooh-ing and aah-ing over the fruits of your labors. In our household of two, it’s a little harder to make it through an entire batch quickly…after several days of scarfing down muffins whenever the opportunity arose, I bundled the remaining handful up and put them where else, but the freezer. They’ll be a real treat defrosted and lightly toasted with butter one morning…should we remember they’re there.
Pumpkin ginger nut muffins (makes 12-15)
Ingredients:
1. Preheat oven to 350. In a medium sized bowl, sift together the flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda.
2. Mix the pumpkin, melted butter, eggs, 1/4 cup of water, and spices together, then combine with the dry ingredients, until just incorporated. Do not over-mix. Fold in the candied ginger and chopped nuts.
3. Spoon mixture into a prepared muffin tin. Bake for 25-30 minutes (mine were done in more like 20 minutes). Check for doneness with a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin. If it comes out clean, they’re done. Cool on a rack.
 

3 Responses to “Pumpkin ginger nut muffins”

  1. Elise Says:

    Oh, they look gorgeous! I’m so glad you liked them!

    🙂

  2. Shayne Says:

    I think we are freezer twins, I do the same thing and I think the contents are the same too. Right down to the lemongrass. the Muffins look great.

  3. […] Cookies [Appetite for China] Gnocchi with Thyme Vinaigrette and Lemon Cashew Cream [VeganYumYum] Chocolate Covered Sunflower Seed Cookies [Culinary Concoctions by Peabody] Tofu Frites and Mojo [White on Rice Couple] Restaurant Style […]


Leave a Reply

