Superspark

a year in food and life

Salmon with potatoes in thai red curry sauce March 19, 2008

Filed under: food,seafood — superspark @ 6:27 am

salmon-with-thai-red-curry.jpg

Though I’ve posted several salmon recipes on Superspark, and though we usually have a handful of salmon fillets in our freezer, it’s a fish that I really have to psych myself up to eat. I know most people love it, I know it’s ever so good for me, but something about it is just way too fishy for me. Give me a little old piece of tilapia or cod any day- something white and flaky, thin and flat- instead of a thick slab of salmon. Still I persist in buying it, trying to make it, hoping that one day I’ll make a breakthrough and really like it rather than just stomaching it.

This recipe was originally posted on YumSugar as fish braised in green thai curry. What grabbed me was the assertion that “the fish — smothered in the sauce — has no “fishy” flavor”, exactly the words I want to hear from a salmon recipe. A quick trip to the fridge revealed a small jar of red thai curry paste (as opposed to the suggested green), but figuring it to be an adequate substitution I set about trying to change my own mind about salmon.

I will admit that just as advertised, the curry sauce actually did a pretty good job of masking the fishy taste, which could be a positive or negative, depending on how much you like salmon’s intrinsic essence. But the dish didn’t quite come together as a whole- the sauce remained very runny even after extra simmering, leaving the finished product (as is painfully apparent from the photo) sort of soupy and sloppy. Given that the potatoes didn’t seem a totally obvious or natural pairing with the salmon and the thai flavors, it would be a no brainer to swap them out for a bed of fragrant jasmine rice next time. Not only do I think it would pull the dish together a bit more, but it would soak up some of the sauce. In the end, I can’t say this dish made me a salmon convert. Would I eat it again? Sure. Would I make it again? Maybe. But it’s really going to take something phenomenal to make me see salmon as something to look forward to.

Salmon with potatoes in thai red curry sauce (serves 4)

Ingredients:
4 salmon fillets
Coarsely ground black pepper, to taste
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 large baking potatoes, peeled, sliced thinly, and boiled until soft
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) low-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon chopped garlic
1 cup canned light coconut milk
2 teaspoons canned Thai red (or green) curry paste
2 tablespoons chopped parsley

1. Season the fish fillets with pepper.

2. Heat the oil in a large skillet, and brown the fish on both sides.

3. Add potatoes, broth and garlic to the skillet, and simmer until the fish flakes to gentle pressure, about 5 minutes (for me, it took more like 10 minutes). Transfer the fish and potatoes to a warm platter.

4. Over high heat, reduce the liquid in the pan by about half. Stir in the coconut milk and curry paste. Simmer until lightly thickened, stir in the parsley and pour over fish and potatoes.

 

5 Responses to “Salmon with potatoes in thai red curry sauce”

  1. I like the idea of the silky coconut milk sauce on the salmon. It must have been wonderfully creamy.

  2. Shayne Says:

    at times I feel the same way about salmon but I found that if you eat fresh salmon that has not been frozen it is MUCH better. I have found that the best way to make it (and my 2 year old eats it up this way) is to season both sides with salt and pepper and a little olive oil. Then Broil for about 7 minutes on each side (longer for thick, until done through) and then once it is done top with pesto. Pesto is so good with salmon and everyone I have served this too has loved it and made it themselves. It is on my blog too, only fried (broiled is better).

  3. cookinpanda Says:

    I love the combination of salmon and curry sauces. I definitely think rice is necessary to soak up the extra liquid from the coconut milk + curry. I happen to love my curries really runny and this sounds worth a try. Thanks for the recipe.

  4. Shannon Says:

    While I haven’t tried it yet (I do like salmon), I’ve seen many mentions of Arctic Char being like salmon without the fishy taste. Might be worth a shot!

  5. ilanadavita Says:

    This recipe looks great. I’ll have to try but I think I’d use cilantro instead of parsley.


Leave a Reply

