Superspark

a year in food and life

Golden tempeh curry March 27, 2008

Filed under: food,veggies — superspark @ 7:36 am

golden-tempeh-curry.jpg

For someone who eats vegetarian about 95% of the time, I’m not terribly well-versed in the “meat substitutes”. Sure, I love tofu, but I guess I have a hard time seeing it as anything remotely close to meaty. And heavens knows I love a good veggie burger like the one from the Jackson Hole in NYC, but even a plain old Gardenburger or supermarket-bought spicy black bean burger is a staple in my diet. With rare exceptions, though, I haven’t ventured into the territory of tempeh, seitan, and textured vegetable protein (TVP). Part of it is that I’ve never felt like I was missing anything, never wanted something more meaty in my diet. In fact, it’s mostly the texture of meat that has always turned me off from it, to the extent that I’m even somewhat averse to the meatiest veggies, like mushrooms.

That said, in recent weeks I’ve found myself wanting to look into cooking with the meat substitutes more. Here in LA we have so many health food restaurants doing interesting things with tempeh, seitan, and the like, that it seemed worth giving it a go at home. For whatever reason, tempeh seemed the most approachable to me and with the arrival of my first issue of Vegetarian Times (sort of a rag, frankly, but I got a year’s subscription for something like $4) came this recipe for golden tempeh curry. A spin on a classic Thai sweet curry, it seemed like a simple way to ease myself (and my meat-loving husband) into cooking with tempeh.

Turns out, it was pretty good. And believe it or not, after pan-frying the tempeh to start, the crunchy little cubes were tasty enough that I may have snacked on a few as is while preparing the rest of the dish. Between the mango and the pineapple juice, it’s definitely a dish that’s on the sweet side, so a savory addition might balance it out a bit. But overall we were both pretty into it. The one change I’d make to the basic recipe listed below is to wait to add the pan-fried tempeh back into the curry until the very end. What started off as delightfully crispy cubes ended up losing all crunchiness in the liquid, yet they were really too dense to absorb any of the flavors of the sauce, which seemed to be the point of adding them early. I’d just fold them at the very end instead before topping with mango and chives.

Anyone have other favorite tempeh recipes to share? I’ve already gotten a few great suggestions from readers…

Golden Tempeh Curry (serves 4)

Ingredients:

1/8 cup olive oil
1 8-oz package of tempeh, cubed
1 medium red onion, diced
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into a 1/2-inch dice
1/8 cup minced fresh ginger
1 14-oz can coconut milk
1 large mango, peeled and cubed
1/2 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
1 tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp salt
chopped chives, for garnish
brown rice to accompany

1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add tempeh and cook 1-2 minutes per side, or until lightly browned. Transfer to plate and set aside.

2. Reduce heat to medium. Add onions and bell peppers to skillet and saute 4 minutes or until softened. Add ginger and saute 30 seconds, or until fragrant.

3. Stir in coconut milk, 1/2 cup mango, pineapple juice, curry powder, salt, and tempeh. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 5 minutes. Uncover and summer 10 minutes more, or until thickened, stirring occasionally. Top with the remaining mango cubes and chives, and serve over brown rice.

 

10 Responses to “Golden tempeh curry”

  1. cookinpanda Says:

    Hey this recipe sounds really nice. And like it masks the tempeh-like qualities really well. I’m a bit ambivalent when it comes to tempeh. I eat it. Throw it into things here or there. I’m used to it, but it can certainly be a chore with the wrong recipe. I’m looking forward to see if any of your readers will suggest a really nice tempeh recipe.

  2. Shayne Says:

    this sounds really good and something that the kids would like. Thank you for sharing and I will try this one soon.

  3. Shayne Says:

    I have an idea, maybe you should host a tempeh cookoff.

  4. Saskya Says:

    I’ve made this twice now from your recipe. It’s gone over well both times (pushing vegan food on friends and family) but the first time my boyfriend surprisingly requested that I use baked tofu instead of tempeh. The second time I made it for my parents and used a teriyaki flavored baked tofu. I thought both were delicious!

  5. […] to finally conquer the lowly cabbage and turn it into something tasty and part of my quest to eat more tempeh as a meat and tofu alternative. The “vegetables” Peter Berley refers to in the […]

  6. […] ohio zanesville ohio light field camera world series game 1 exotic animals exotic animals scott hall Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]

  7. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  8. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  9. […] jones snow white and the huntsman trailer snow white and the huntsman trailer sexiest man alive kentucky basketball heather locklear bob costas Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]


Leave a Reply

