Superspark

a year in food and life

Mexican chopped salad with honey-lime dressing April 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — superspark @ 5:05 pm

My dear Dylan is addicted to the big box stores. When we first moved into our current apartment, we spent multiple Friday nights at Home Depot, where he excitedly looked through lumber, screws, and other sundries while I tried to make the time pass. He has a similar addiction to Costco, where he can happily peruse aisle upon aisle of kitchen wares, furniture, and electronics for hours. Luckily, it is only occasionally that he feels any compulsion to purchase said items.

Me, I don’t get the whole phenomenon. Having lived nearly all my life in large, densely-packed east coast cities, not only is it difficult to find a Costco-type store (especially if you don’t have a car, as I didn’t in the past), but who has room to store 24 rolls of toilet paper or huge vats of condiments? But on the West Coast this isn’t a problem- we’re practically attached to our cars, unfortunately, and buying in enormous quantities seems to be de rigeur. So it happened that we recently ended up with six heads of romaine and a 4 pound bag of spinach, all at once. For two people.

As I put together a list of recipes I wanted to try in the upcoming week, clearly I was going to have to focus on those two ingredients. Beyond my cookbooks and the usual list of food blogs I follow, when searching for new recipes, my two go-to sources are Epicurious and the new, fun Food Blog Search. A search for romaine inevitably turns up a never-ending tally of caesar salad recipes and looking for something a little different, I happened upon this recipe for Mexican chopped salad with honey-lime dressing (from the July 2003 issue of Self) on Epicurious.

I tend to like the Self recipes well enough, but what you have to realize when you’ make them, is that you are generally sacrificing some taste, some decadence, some fun, in the name of healthy eating. So it was with this salad- it was good, fine, perfectly edible, but it would be hard to get TOO excited about it. Lots of colors and textures mean lots of different nutrients, so that’s a plus, but as you eat the salad, you would never forget that the foremost adjective used to describe it would be healthy.  You know what I mean? So if you’re trying to be virtuous, trying to increase your nutrient intake, by all means, try this chopped salad out…but I’ll keep searching for a more fun way to use my remaining heads of romaine, thank you very much.

Mexican chopped salad with honey-lime dressing (serves 3-4)

Ingredients:

Salad:
2 heads chopped romaine lettuce (you may want to add more lettuce if serving 4 people)
1 can (15.5 oz) black beans, rinsed and well drained
3/4 cup chopped seeded tomato
3/4 cup chopped peeled jicama
3/4 cup fresh corn kernels, uncooked (or frozen or canned)
3/4 cup thinly sliced radishes
Half a ripe avocado, diced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1/4 cup crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese

Honey-Lime Dressing:
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp finely chopped fresh cilantro (or more to taste)
1 garlic clove, peeled and minced
1 tsp chopped jalapeño pepper (use canned for less heat)

1. Toss all salad ingredients in a large bowl. In separate bowl, mix dressing ingredients. Pour dressing over mixture and toss again. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

 

7 Responses to “Mexican chopped salad with honey-lime dressing”

  1. Alanna Says:

    Too bad, it sure looks and sounds great. I’ve learned to bypass the SELF recipes because — to my taste — they’re just not that special. I think it’s their style, however — it just doesn’t match my taste. (The same with Cooking Light.) But this recipe isn’t exactly ‘diet’ food either, not with beans, corn, avocado, feta, so much oil and honey to boot. I’m betting that’s a 600 or 700 calorie ‘salad’. For that, it SHOULD be good!

  2. Yeah, I know what you mean. And it seems surprising since the dressing has sweet, spicy, and sour ingredients. Do you think maybe if there was less oil or the garlic was sauteed it would have been better? It looks lovely, nevertheless.

  3. […] from Sugar & Spice, Sourdough Starter from sugarlaws, Baby Beluga Soup from Suite Apple, Mexican Chopped Salad with Honey-Lime Dressing and Spaetzle with Vegetables and Poached Egg from Superspark, Roasted Potato Salad with Mustard […]

  4. The very core of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not work well with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you managed to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and one might do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I will undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

  5. […] syracuse shonn greene oklahoma state plane crash syracuse university best buy black friday 2011 ads broncos jets Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]

  6. I think you really love cooking. I love you blog.

  7. Dr. Sandra Spore Says:

    I am going to try this. Good healthy ingredients. I don’t understand why the other person thought it would be high in calories.


Leave a Reply

