Superspark

a year in food and life

Romaine salad with corn and pepitas May 2, 2008

Filed under: food,salads,Uncategorized,veggies — superspark @ 5:02 am

[I’m off to Norway for a conference tomorrow morning- I guess there are some upsides to academia after all. I’ll be back and posting in a week…]

Woo hoo- more fun with romaine! Seriously, enough of the stuff. This was the last head in our giant Costco bag of 6 and while I’m all for salad, I was happy to see it go. I was pretty much ready to do anything with it- anything at all to be done with romaine for a while- when I stumbled across this lightning quick, simple little salad in the April 2008 issue of Everyday Food. And to my surprise, I’m a romaine fan again.

Simple as can be, this salad mixes nothing more than lettuce, onion, corn, and toasted pepitas (hulled pumpkin seeds) and yet packed a punch. Don’t leave out any of the ingredients- the corn and pepitas were especially tasty and interesting additions. And I’ll admit that the sour cream based dressing didn’t hurt. Normally I’m not a creamy dressing sort of girl, but this one definitely worked for me. Alongside a tex-mex veggie burger topped with freshly made guacamole, this was a delicious weeknight dinner.

Romaine salad with corn and pepitas (serves 2-4, depending on portion size)

Ingredients;

1/3 cup pepitas (hulled pumpkin seeds)
1/2 cup low fat sour cream
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/4 tsp ground cumin
coarse salt and ground pepper
1 head romaine lettuce, thinly sliced crosswise
1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced

1. Preheat oven to 350. Place pepitas on a rimmed baking sheet, and toast until golden brown, 6-8 minutes. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together sour cream, vinegar, and cumin, season with salt and pepper to taste. Add romaine, corn, onion, and pepitas. Toss to combine; season with salt and pepper if necessary.

 

One Response to “Romaine salad with corn and pepitas”

  1. Hi Emily,
    I tagged you on my blog, so check it out when you get a minute if you feel like playing along. Have a safe trip!


Leave a Reply

