Superspark

a year in food and life

Tilapia with strawberry-citrus-avocado salsa June 1, 2008

Filed under: food,seafood — superspark @ 10:15 am

Since discovering a quick and foolproof way to cook tilapia to perfection a couple of months ago, I’ve been fairly obsessed with making fish tacos topped with fruity salsa. So it seemed a no brainer to add them to the menu for my mom’s recent weekend visit. As I mentioned in a recent post, her diet is almost the exact opposite of mine, favoring protein and fats over carbs, and so I was looking for recipes that would fit into that little area of overlap. Fish tacos seemed like a good answer, as I could have them in the traditional way (tortilla and all), whereas mom could just have the fish topped with salsa.

We hit the farmer’s market that morning with a rough idea of a recipe for a fruity salsa, but with an open mind as to exactly what fruits and veggies would go into it. Mom quickly declared that the Seascape strawberries from one of the local growers were the best she’s ever had and given that berries were one of the few fruits permitted on her diet, we decided to boldly try a strawberry salsa. I convinced her to let me sneak a little bit of orange in to give it a citrus kick (even though citrus is technically verboten to her) and she was more than happy to include fresh California avocado as the final main ingredient. Using this recipe from Epicurious as the base, I whipped up the tacos that night (and the next) to great acclaim. I’ve never been a huge seafood person, but I could eat these again and again. I’m looking forward to trying variations on this salsa with all of the wonderful fruit that’s now coming into season.

I’ve been away from Weekend Herb Blogging for a while now, but I’m back. Check it out the recap, hosted this week by Wandering Chopsticks.

Tilapia with strawberry-citrus-avocado salsa (serves 4)

Ingredients:

Salsa:

2 cups finely diced fruit such as strawberries, kiwi, pineapple, mango, or papaya
2 California avocados, pitted, peeled, and cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
1 fresh serrano or jalapeño chile, seeded and finely chopped
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, or to taste

Fish:

4 mild fish filets (like tilapia)
sprinkle of kosher salt
1-2 tbsp butter
1-2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup flour (or as needed)

8 soft taco-size flour torillas (if you want to make tacos)

1. To make the salsa, simply combine all ingredients in a medium size bowl and toss gently until well combined. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

2. Pat fish dry and season both sides generously with salt. Let fish stand for about 5 minutes, until it glistens with moisture.

3. Place the flour in a pie plate and dredge fish in flour. Shake off any excess.

4. Heat 1-2 tbsp oil in skillet over high heat. Add 1-2 tbsp butter and heat until foaming subsides. Reduce heat to medium and add fish to pan. When bottom of fish is golden brown, use two spatulas to gently flip fish. Continue to cook to desired doneness.

5. If you want to make tacos, while the fish is cooking, warm soft taco-size tortillas in the oven at ~250 degrees, being sure not to burn them. When fish is done, cut into large bite-size pieces (about 6 per tilapia filet) and divide among tortillas. Top with a generous helping of salsa and fold in half. Garnish with additional cilantro, if desired. Enjoy!

 

11 Responses to “Tilapia with strawberry-citrus-avocado salsa”

  1. Thanks for the submission. This look great! I love fish tacos but have never thought of making a strawberry salsa with them.

  2. Kalyn Says:

    Sounds very tasty. I think Tilapia is good so many ways.

  3. cookinpanda Says:

    Strawberry citrus salsa sounds really great. A nice way to really bump up the flavor in a tilapia dish.

  4. Yum! this caught my eye on the WHB roundup because I was recently experimenting with fruity salsa on my favorite fish tacos. Every tried raspberry pico de gallo? I made almond crusted shrimp tacos with raspberry pico de gallo and spicy lime mayo. i’m still drooling thinking about it. but you’ve got me convinced to try strawberries the next time around.

  5. […] It ended up being easier than I had imagined to reach compromises, and after regaling Mom with my favorite fish tacos (sans tortilla for her, natch) and a zucchini ricotta frittata, which she declared the “best […]

  6. […] from Straight from the Farm, Chicken with Morels – Barefoot Style from Strawberries in Paris, Tilapia with Strawberry-Citrus-Avocado Salsa and Apricot and Almond Stuffed Chicken from Superspark, Cheddar Corn Fritters from Taste and Tell, […]

  7. […] Tilapia with strawberry-citrus-avocado salsa « Superspark […]

  8. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  9. […] turkey the walking dead the walking dead turkey map walter isaacson walter isaacson Share […]

  10. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  11. […] the muppets percy harvin percy harvin best cyber monday deals best cyber monday deals cyber monday Share […]


Leave a Reply

