Superspark

a year in food and life

Quinoa and black bean salad with smoky lime dressing July 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — superspark @ 7:45 am

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, can I say once more that I love grain salads for summer? Not only are they more filling than ones based on greens, but they travel better (hello, easy workday lunch!) and won’t get soggy and sad after a few hours sitting in dressing. I’ve made a lot of grain salads during the year and half during Superspark’s inception- some good, some less so. But I’m always on the lookout for new and interesting grain salad recipes- they are perfect for easy, hot weather eating (which is good since it’s been about 100 here for the last few days!).

I first bookmarked this recipe from Family Style Food. many months ago, tempted by the quinoa (one of my very favorite grains for for its nutritiousness and its nutty taste and texture), but a little turned off by the “smoky” in the title. I’m not a huge chipotle fan, to be frank, though I know it’s supposed to be one of the hot and trendy foods, along with goji berries, pomegranates, and the like. I’ve just never been a fan of anything with a smoky flavor, and yes, that includes bacon back in my meat-eating days long ago. Nevertheless, this recipe stayed in the back of my mind and on the long list of starred recipes to try in my Google Reader.

And of course, it was another classic case where I had to ask myself why I waited so long- it was incredibly easy and quick to make, travelled well, and was really, really tasty. Even Dylan, who’s not always as much of a grain salad devotee as I am commented that it was really delicious. The lime was refreshing and unexpected, and while the chipotle taste was definitely there, it wasn’t so strong as to be a turn-off for me. Lastly, it goes without saying that the quinoa (the protein-rich Peruvian “supergrain”) and black beans (packed with fiber and antioxidants) that form the backbone of the dish make it a super-healthy meal all-around.  Think of it as a tasty but completely guilt-free lunch for a hot day when you just want a light bite. Enjoy!

Quinoa and black bean salad with smoky lime dressing (serves 3-4 as a main dish, 6 as a side)

Ingredients:
1 cup quinoa
4 green onions, thinly sliced
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon low-sodium teriyaki sauce or soy sauce
2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce
1 small garlic clove, finely chopped

1. Place the quinoa and 2 cups water in a medium saucepan over high heat and bring to a boil.

2. Lower heat, cover and simmer 15 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in the green onions, beans, and cilantro.

3. Puree the remaining ingredients together in a food processor; pour over quinoa and stir to coat with dressing. Serve warm or at room temperature.

 

13 Responses to “Quinoa and black bean salad with smoky lime dressing”

  1. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  3. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

  4. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  5. […] killing fields the killing fields texas killing fields burzynski pete seeger gazelle gazelle Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]

  6. Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  7. […] bieber paternity denver news kym johnson how old is justin bieber how old is justin bieber north dakota jobs referendum Share […]

  8. […] degrasse tyson neil degrasse tyson bears lions bears lions neville neville heavy d Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  9. Hi there!What a nice post! This is my first visit to your site/blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job! Awesome!

  10. Awing Says:

    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  11. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  12. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.Once again nice blog Wonderful to read!

  13. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a great website.


Leave a Reply

