Superspark

a year in food and life

Quinoa soup with avocado and corn March 9, 2009

Filed under: food,grains,soups,veggies — superspark @ 8:28 am

quinoa-soup-with-avocado-and-corn

City living requires a little bit of flexibility and a “roll with the punches” attitude.  Our apartment seemed small but manageable before Maddie came along and with plans to relocate this summer, we figured we’d just squeeze her in with us.  How much room could one small baby need?  Not much for Maddie herself, of course, but today’s babies come with all sorts of accoutrements- cribs, strollers, toys, clothes, changing pads…did I mention that the child has three varieties of chair?

She spent the first 4 months or so of life sleeping only a few feet away from us in her crib, an arrangement that seemed perfectly lovely until she started doing a vocalization I call “Dolphin Speak”, a high-pitched shriek (not unlike Flipper) that could come at any hour of day or night.  Having had enough of awakening to midnight squeals, I came home one day to find Dylan moving Maddie’s crib into the all-purpose room that serves as a dining space and office.  So now it’s Maddie’s room as well, which has worked out swimmingly aside from the fact that all of its contents are off limits once she goes to bed around 7:30 pm.  How unfortunate that for nights on end our good camera, the amazing Nikon D70 which lets even the most clueless among us take beautiful photos, was shut in the dining room/office/nursery along with our slumbering baby.  All of which is a roundabout way of saying that yes, I know this photo sucks, but I hope you won’t hope it against this perfectly delicious and insanely simple soup.

It comes from a blog I recently discovered and has quickly become one of my favorites, Cheap Healthy Good.  I like the attitude, the writing, the variety, but above all, the postings tend to be the kind of things I like to eat from day to day.  This quinoa soup with avocado and corn, found here, is the first recipe I’ve tried from the site, but based on its success, I’ll certainly try more.  To give credit where credit is due, I think it orginally comes from Lorna Sass’ Whole Grains for Busy People.

It was so simple a monkey could put it together in minutes (so says the anthropologist in me) and yet had lots of interesting flavor and texture.  I had never tried quinoa in a soup before, to my recollection, but I’m sold. Sweet corn, creamy avocado, a splash of lime, and tiny grains of quinoa added up to a delightful weeknight meal that we liked so much that we ate the whole pot in just one sitting.

Quinoa soup with avocado and corn (serves 4)

Ingredients:
4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup quinoa
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1/3 cup chunky salsa, to taste
1 ripe but firm Hass avocado, diced
Salt
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Lime wedges, for serving

1. In a large saucepan over high heat, bring the broth to a boil. Stir in the quinoa, reduce heat to medium-high, and continue boiling, uncovered, for 15 minutes.

2. Stir in the corn and salsa, then return to a simmer. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the avocado. Season with salt and stir in the cilantro. Ladle into large bowls, accompanied with lime wedges.

 

7 Responses to “Quinoa soup with avocado and corn”

  1. heather Says:

    this really looks wonderful!

    cheers,

    *heather*

  2. I just bought a 4# bag of Organic Quinoa at Costco and couldn’t remember any of the recipes I used to do in college with it. Stumbled upon this! I’ll let you know how it turns out. I happen to have some avos.

  3. veggicurious Says:

    Oh man. This soup looks super. I have all the ingredients except the avocado – I only have Guac. wonder how that would change it….

  4. GR Says:

    Single space after a sentence! The old double space rule died with the manual typewriter.

    • Kirsten Says:

      GR: Really? That’s bothering you?? lol

      I, amazingly, have everything called for in this recipe. May it be the new “chicken noodle soup” in our home? I cannot say. However, my grain lady keeps me well stocked in my grains and pulses and I will joyfully share this recipe with all my deserving fb buddies and close friends if it turns out well.

      Thank you Superspark and I love your site, btw. 😉

  5. Markus Says:

    I have NEVER thought of avo in a soup! This is definitely worth a try. I’m SO saving this recipe. I have all the ingredients and I LOVE avo!!!

  6. 2gadabout Says:

    I tasted an awesome Quinoa soup in Peru and I’d love to have the recipe.
    They often mix corn with rice and quinoa. I’m going to try this one. I’ll let you know.


Leave a Reply

