Superspark

a year in food and life

Spinach salad with red onions and tahini vinaigrette April 8, 2007

Filed under: food,salads,veggies — superspark @ 9:14 pm

spinach-red-onion-and-tahini-salad.jpg

How can such a simple salad be so delicious? The first time I had this salad was when Dylan first came to visit me in Boston one autumn. Our courtship (to use an archaic word) was an unusual one…we reconnected in the weeks prior to our 10th year high school reunion, literally days before I was to set off for six months of work in Norway. We kept in touch in the months I was away and made plans to travel together through Eastern Europe that summer. Fast forward several months, I had returned to grad school and Dylan (who lived in California) was making his first trip to Boston to visit me since our whirlwind romance that summer. We decided to throw a little dinner party so that my friends could meet him and naturally, a “little” dinner party quickly exploded into an extravagant six-course meal under Dylan’s ambitious direction. Some of the courses were terribly involved, like a smoked chicken soup that required us to scavenge for woodchips at an apple orchard and then create a home smoker in my little apartment kitchen (yikes!). But perhaps the biggest winner of the night was this incredibly simple salad, which guests remember to this day.

Comprised of nothing more than fresh spinach, lightly pan-fried red onions, and an unusual, creamy tahini vinaigrette dressing, this salad is easy to make but tastes much more complex. The onions become soft and sweet and the dressing is rich and nutty. Dylan adapted his version from this June 1996 Bon Appetit recipe (posted here on Epicurious), cutting down on the oil in the dressing and adding even more tahini. It tastes just as good today as it did during that first visit. I didn’t fall in love with Dylan for his cooking prowess, but it certainly didn’t hurt.

This is my entry for this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Anh from Food Lover’s Journey.

Spinach salad with red onions and tahini (serves eight)

Vinaigrette
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
6 tablespoons tahini (sesame seedpaste)
2 tablespoons coarse-grained mustard
2 teaspoon honey
1 small garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Salad
2 large red onions
12 cups (packed) baby spinach,trimmed

For Vinaigrette:
Combine all ingredients except oil in blender and blend well. Gradually blend in oil. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

For Salad:
Slice onions into 1/4-1/2 thick rounds. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in frying pan (medium-low), then add the onions and a pinch of salt. Cover. When the onions start to lose their color, take them off the heat (i.e. before they turn gray and floppy). Pour 1 cup vinaigrette over onions, coating evenly.

Place spinach in large bowl. Toss with enough vinaigrette to coat. Season with salt and pepper. Top with grilled onions. Pass remaining dressing separately.

 

12 Responses to “Spinach salad with red onions and tahini vinaigrette”

  1. I just made a lemon-yogurt-tahini dressing last week. I can’t wait to try yours.

  2. kalyn Says:

    It looks great, but I’m also kind of laughing here because I just made a spinach salad with onions and a balsamic vinaigrette, and my photo is almost exactly like yours, square plate, same color, corner of the plate in the photo. So whenever I post it, (not this week) don’t think I’m copying you please. No Tahini in my version though, and I love the idea of tahini in a dressing.

  3. Amanda Says:

    I was lucky enough to be at the dinner party the first time this salad was made (as well as for the gathering of the woodchips- a very funny moment!) and can attest to the fact that it was a real highlight. We even loved the leftovers- rare for a salad! I’ve made it myself a couple of times since then and am happy to be reminded of it again. I definitely recommend it as a delicious, easy salad that’s a little different from the norm (mostly because of the tahini).

  4. Anh Says:

    I love tahini, and your recipe is inspiring! I saw your ofu and pumpkin seed burgers post, too. Delicious!

  5. tami Says:

    What a delicious looking salad! So simple but with great flavors – my favorite kind! Thanks for posting 🙂

  6. […] acorn squash in the past. For instance, at the same dinner party at which Dylan first wooed me with this salad, he also broiled fantastic little wedges of acorn squash stuffed with craisins and brown sugar. Who […]

  7. […] that often goes unnoticed and untouched for a long time in our house. There’s a great spinach salad with tahini dressing recipe that I’ve written about and love, but aside from that, I don’t have any […]

  8. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  9. […] turkey the walking dead the walking dead turkey map walter isaacson walter isaacson Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  10. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  11. […] the muppets percy harvin percy harvin best cyber monday deals best cyber monday deals cyber monday Share this:TwitterFacebookLike […]


Leave a comment