Superspark

a year in food and life

Butter lettuce, persimmon, feta, and hazelnut salad December 13, 2007

Filed under: food,salads,veggies — superspark @ 1:54 pm

butter-lettuce-persimmon-and-feta-salad.jpg

I’ve written before, on this blog, about my penchant for salads of the fruit, cheese, and nut variety. Mixing the sweet and the salty, the crunchy and the creamy, the light and the rich, how much better does it get? I’ve had many a salad with craisins, apples, pears, even strawberries. But persimmons in a salad? Now that was something new…

Realizing that the persimmon season is coming to a close here in California (and frankly may not even exist in the rest of the country- I’d never had one until I moved out west), I’ve been stocking up on the little orange Fuyus at the farmers’ market. They’re insanely cheap (usually $1.50/lb), travel well, have a long counter life, and are just a bit more interesting than the apple or banana I might otherwise snack on. All of which goes to say, there’s a serious overload of persimmons in the house, more than even one persimmon-lovin’ gal like me can hope to eat.

Epicurious to the rescue! This recipe from the November 2004 issue of Bon Appetit was simply delicious. The persimmon, feta, and hazelnuts were an unexpected combination- wintry in feel, but bright in taste and texture. Topped with a simple vinaigrette, this salad was a smashing new addition to my fruit/cheese/nut salad repertoire. More interesting than your standard ho-hum side salad, serve this at any dinner party and you’ll have your guests talking about your creative palate. Or, do as we did and horde every last scrumptious bite to yourself. You can always share it next time around.

This is my entry for Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted this week by Astrid from Paulchen’s Food Blog.

Butter lettuce, persimmon, feta, and hazelnut salad (serves 4)

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons Sherry wine vinegar
1 tablespoon minced shallot
1 1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/3 cup olive oil

1 large head of butter lettuce or Boston lettuce, torn into bite-size pieces
3 medium-size firm but ripe Fuyu persimmons, peeled, halved, sliced
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup chopped toasted hazelnuts

1. Combine vinegar, shallot, and mustard in small bowl. Gradually whisk in oil. Season dressing with salt and pepper.2. Place lettuce in large bowl; toss with dressing. Gently toss in persimmons, cheese, and nuts. Season salad to taste with salt and pepper.

 

17 Responses to “Butter lettuce, persimmon, feta, and hazelnut salad”

  1. I love persimmons but haven’t been able to get a decent one since I was in Israel last year. Your salad looks delicious! I bet the feta compliments the hazelnuts and persimmons wonderfully.

  2. Kalyn Says:

    Great photo, and what a fantastic sounding salad. I’m just discovering persimmons and they taste wonderful.

  3. Annemarie Says:

    I love salads with sweet/salty/crunchy combinations, and persimmon is a great way of making them happen in the winter. Great combination idea.

  4. I don’t like butter lettuce but the rest of the salad looks really wonderful.

  5. miyuki Says:

    no other picture of salad only one

  6. nurturingwisdom Says:

    This is a recipe I’m planning to try. My family loves butter lettuce, and I love the different textures in this recipe and contrasting flavors.

    Thank-you!

  7. […] 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 document.getElementById("post-8297-blankimage").onload(); (No Ratings Yet) […]

  8. pips fx Says:

    Very good post.Thanks for sharing this great article! I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic.Excellent post and wonderful blog, I really like this type of interesting articles keep it up.

  9. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  10. Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  11. […] papelbon trisomy 13 veterans barbados resorts the call helen mirren surrogates Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]

  12. Wider Fluent Says:

    I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.Thanks!

  13. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

  14. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  15. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  16. Bridgitte Says:

    Healthy and it tastes good!

  17. This is delicious and healthy food especially for vegetable lover.


Leave a comment